Octave and Unison Patterns

This post assumes that you already have some knowledge of:
what a scale is, what an interval is, what an octave interval is, what a unison interval is, what a chord root is, how the ascending and descending chromatic scale works, and how each fret gives a new note on the chromatic scale.

These are explained elsewhere on my site.

What I am adding is how it all works on the fingerboard.

The white circles give the octaves and unison positions for the note C on the guitar fret board when the guitar is tuned in standard tuning.

In standard guitar tuning, the notes that are unison intervals are on adjacent strings, 4 frets up the neck if on the 2nd to 3rd strings, and 5 frets up the neck otherwise. The notes that are octave intervals will not be on adjacent strings. These notes can be the root notes for a scale or a chord. The root note for a scale is usually called the tonic note.

In the metafrets system, each root note pair for scale tonics, moving up the neck, gives a new zone, so zones are 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, and octave 1st, and so on.

Guitar fret board in standard tuning showing the positions for the note C.

The pattern can move up the neck, giving different scales and different chords, following the chromatic scale notes.

Chromatic Circle
Chromatic Circle

Here is the pattern shifted up 2 frets, giving the note D. Note the D note at the nut. This indicates that the pattern has wrapped around, creating Zone 5 from D at the nut to D at the 3rd fret. Zone 1 starts at D at the 3rd fret. The zones overlap.

D Notes
D Notes – Unisons and Octaves

Have something to say?

(No worries, we will keep your email safe! Also, make sure you fill in email and name fields before posting a comment.)